Skip navigation

In 2002, Capitol Records released a collection of 21 Christmas songs from Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis Jr.  It was called Christmas With The Rat Pack, and the cover featured Ocean’s 11 style artwork.  The album included Frank’s popular Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas and I’ll Be Home For Christmas.  And from Dean, there’s Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow, and Baby, It’s Cold Outside, among others.

Between them, Frank and Dean had recorded many holiday tunes from which to choose.  Sammy, however, didn’t  have a large Christmas catalog.  Still, he’s featured on the album singing The Christmas Song, Jingle Bells, and a song called Christmastime All Over The World, which was previously unreleased.

After the initial release of Christmas With The Rat Pack, Capitol Records reportedly received complaints from conservative religious groups about the cover, even though it’s pretty innocent.  In response to the criticism, the cover was changed to a more generic image, as seen below.

Each December, at today’s tributes to the Rat Pack, Christmas songs are usually incorporated into the show.  And they usually include favorites from Christmas With The Rat Pack, performed in the styles of Frank, Dean and Sammy, by Rat Pack Impersonators.

%d bloggers like this: